The Weight of a Jumpstart

Standard

MIXTAPE:  January 17-24.2011

Beach and Beginnings by dardenitaaa

I don’t know about you, but 2011 kicked-off on a heavy beginning for me. The year didn’t start right, I guess. And the tragic sequence of events keeps coming like a brutal spiral. So many deaths, so many bad news. And the first month of the year isn’t even done. Nevertheless, I’m still crossing my fingers for the good things. Miracles, they say, come to those who wait. And what better way to reflect on beginnings through songs that speak for the angst of starting something new, despite the raggedy worn-out woes of the indelible past. What made your music playlist for the first few weeks of the year? Here goes mine.


10. “I’ll be you”, The Replacements

A dream too tired to come true
Left a rebel without a clue
And I’m searching for somethin’ to do

And if it’s just a game
Then we’ll hold hands just the same
So what, we’re bleeding but we ain’t cut

And I could purge my soul perhaps
For the imminent collapse
Oh yeah, I’ll tell you what we could do
You be me for a while
I’ll be you

9.”Those sweet words”, Norah Jones

All your love
Is a lost balloon
Rising up through the afternoon
‘Til it could fit on the head of a pin

Come on in
Did you have a hard time sleeping
‘Cause a heavy moon was keeping me awake
And all I know is I’m just glad to see you again

8.”Hyperballad”, Bjork

I go through all this
before you wake up
to feel happier
and safe with you up here

I’m back at my cliff
still throwing things off
I listen to the sounds they make
on their way down
When it lands
will my eyes
be closed or open?

7. “Believing is art”, Spoon

Things everybody would say
Believing is hard
Believing is art
Things everybody should know
The end will come slow
And love breaks your heart

6. “Your heart is loud”, Coleen

5. “Pinaiyak mo na naman ako”, Rivermaya

pinaiyak mo nanaman ako
parati nalang ganito

ni hindi pa nga ako nag-almusal
sobra na akong utal-utal

.4.”Silent all these years”, Tori Amos

But what if I’m a mermaid
In these jeans of his
With her name still on it
Hey but I don’t care
Cause sometimes
I said sometimes
I hear my voice
And it’s been here
Silent All These Years

3.”Pamphleteer”, The Weakerthans

Why do I still see you in every mirrored window,
in all that I could never overcome?
How I don’t know what I should do with my hands when I talk to you.
How you don’t know where you should look, so you look at my hands.

2.”All I know”, Five for Fighting

I bruise you
You bruise me
We both bruise so easily
Too easily to let it show
I love you, and thats all I know

And all my plans
keep falling through
All my plans they
Depend on you
Depend on you
To help them grow
I love you
And thats all I know

1.”How he loves us”, David Crowder Band

He is jealous for me
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree
Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy

Leave a Reply

