Fuzzy Hearts on Chilled Lungs

Standard

MIXTAPE:  JANUARY 25-31.2011

Crystal Castles via dailybeatz.com

Mid-January mornings make me forget I am living on the tropical side of the planet. These days of the year might perhaps be the closest thing to winter Manila would have. Ironically, things have been picking up and getting a lot more upbeat despite the descent of temperature. I feel perky these days, which probably explains why my music set this week picks up a lighter, breezier tempo. The inevitable melodrama tunes, are of course, still perfect for days I need some cheering up on; making my list a weird concoction of high-strung and heavy stuff. What songs are you abusing lately?

 

10. “It matters to me”, Jason Castro
You don’t have to dry your eyes
Let’s be weak for a little while
Listen out and save tonight for memory
And kiss me while the candles glow
It’s almost time for me to go
 
9. “Alice Practice”, Crystal Castles
scars, i’m chopping dagger
see you’ll never walk
only stagger.
sad eyes
 
8. “Flume”, Bon Ivler
Only love is all maroon
Gluey feathers on a flume
Sky is womb and she’s the moon
I am my mother on the wall, with us all
I move in water, shore to shore;
Nothing’s more
 
7. “Words meet heartbeats”, Parachute
Well I’d go house to house and knock on every door
I’d take down all the walls and tear up every floor
Just to figure out, oh what we’re fighting for
And all I can do is sit and let the air speak for you
 
6. “Dreaming wide awake”, Poets of the fall
Another place and time, without a warning sign
And we could be dying angels high
I’ll sell my soul to dream you wide awake
I’ll dream you, I’ll dream you, I’ll dream you wide awake
 
5.”Two for my seconds,” Operator Please
and it’s so, it’s fantastic
mesmerize by memory
childhood thoughts can’t comfort me
in this house of mine
 
4. “Strange color Blue”, Madrugada
Blue
Strange colour blue
Sixteen tons on the moon
Hey little mister driver man
Keep your head up
We are nearly there
I am racing
Outside and below myself
 
3. “Rocketeer”, Far East Movement
Where we go we don’t need roads, roads
Where we stop nobody knows, knows
To the stars if you really want it
Got, got a jetpack with your name on it
 
2. “Execution of all things”, Rilo Kiley
And lastly, you’re all alone with nothing left but sleep.
But sleep never comes to you,
it’s just the guilt and forever
Wakefulness of the weak
It’s just you and me.
 
1. “Your love is a song”, Switchfoot
With my eyes wide open
I’ve got my eyes wide open
I’ve been keeping my hopes unbroken
Yeah, yeah
Leave a Reply

