A Valentine Survival guide

Standard

MIXTAPE: FEBRUARY 1-14.2011

Table for One by dardenitaaa

Or for a gentler rephrase, how to be happy despite being on the saddest month of the year—at least for us perennial members of the singles’ statistics. So, if you’re on a relationship right now and is strolling through the honeyfields of love with your lover in hand, this music set isn’t clearly one I’d recommend for you to listen to.  Yes, I still cringe at couples’ public display of affection, barf at the overrated display of hearts, despise the shade of red and yes, I still cry when I watch movies alone. But this February Fourteenth, I choose celebrating, instead of sulking. Honesty hurts but it unleashes you to delicious freedom, I learned. Hey, it’s possible. Trust me, I’ve been through twenty cold valentines and I’ve managed to get through it fair enough. Love songs are definitely a big factor to that, cheesy or otherwise. Here are my ten most recommended songs for surviving the most dreaded red-letter day on the calendar.

10. Say you don’t want it, One Night Only
Talk all the talk with a poet’s style
Tongue like electric, eyes like a child
Buy only wives and the classic cars
Live like a saviour, live like the stars
Talk all the talk with a model’s smile
Tongue like electric, eyes like a child
Buy all your highs and the classic cars
Die on the front page, just like the stars

09. Basket Case, Green Day
Do you have the time, To listen to me whine,
About nothing and everything all at once?

08. Man who can’t be moved, The Script
Cause if one day you wake up and find that you’re missing me
And your heart starts to wonder where on this earth I could be
Thinking maybe you’ll come back here to the place that we meet
Oh, you see me waiting for you on a corner of the street

07. Come Pick me up, Ryan Adams
When they call your name
Will you walk right up
With a smile on your face
Or will you cower in fear
In your favorite sweater
With an old love letter

06. Moving Backwards, Ben Rector
And so I say
So what if they’re just stories
What if I need them
So I pray
That you’ll give me grace if you can hear me
That you’ll give me grace if you can hear
Cause standing still isn’t easy
When the world’s moving backwards
The world’s moving backwards

05. Love is hard, James Morrisson
Love takes hostages
And gives them pain
Gives someone the power
To hurt you again and again
Oh, but they don’t care

04. There for you, Flyleaf
Swirling shades of blue
Slow dancing in your eyes
Sun kisses the earth
And I hush my urge to cry, cry

03. Dancing in the minefields, Andrew Peterson
Well ‘I do’ are the two most famous last words
The beginning of the end
But to lose your life for another I’ve heard is a good place to begin
Cause the only way to find your life is to lay your own life down
And I believe it’s an easy price for the life that we have found

02. Love is here, Tenth Avenue North
Come to the treasure, you who search and you’ll search no more.
Come to the lover you who want and you’ll want no more, no.
And all you who labor in vain to the broken and shamed,
Love is here.
Love is now.

01. Haven’t met you yet. Michael Buble
And I know someday that it’ll all turn out
You’ll make me work, so we can work to work it out
And I promise you, kid, that I give so much more than I get
I just haven’t met you yet

One response »

Leave a Reply

