A shaky prelude to Summer

Standard

MIXTAPE: MARCH 1-14.2011

Surprises, Surprises. Just as I was bracing myself to sizzle for the warmest month of the year, the rainfall came and washed over the anxiety for the first two weeks of March—in perfect timing for the professional bumming I’ve been doing over the last days: If I’m not glued on the TV screen watching movies, I’ve got my nose stuck-up halfway through the pages of my paperbacks. Doing reviews have been so much fun than I expected. Plus, I’m so blessed to have a lot of free time to explore as many art mediums as I could find and stumble upon, wherever.

Music, like a good old friend, kept me good company over the course of many unpredictable events lately. Luminescent or Gloomy, the pittter-patter of rain against the roof and across my room nicely hums the sweet backdrop music for much of the writing I’ve been doing lately. The cold makes me want to snuggle under the sheets and conjure poetry from my bored head for hours. The drenched street roads from my window give me stories. My music list this time includes tracks I’ve been listening to a lot while I’m holed up inside the house waiting for nothing in particular. Usually I’m big on lyrics, but hey, these are days where the rhythm just takes over everything. Soothing and Sweet, I could just relax and heave a sigh of relief to relinquish the nostalgia of the moments. What can a newbie blogger like me could ever ask for?


1. Breathe me, Sia
Be my friend
Hold me, wrap me up
Unfold me
I am small
I’m needy
Warm me up
And breathe me

2. Paris Blue, Lykke Li
All the while you lit your streets for me,
I cursed the pavement that I walked
All the while you loaned your nights to me,
I was unable to forget.
So I didn’t kiss you like I should
Didn’t grace you like I ment.
Never once did I lay my eyes on you
And all along you saw me cry.

3. Roads , Portishead
Ohh, can’t anybody see
We’ve got a war to fight
Never found our way
Regardless of what they say

4. Because I want you, Placebo
As the headache fades
This house is no longer a home
Don’t give up on the dream
Don’t give up on the wanting
And everything that’s true
Don’t give up on the dream
Don’t give up on the wanting

5. Lemonade, Braids
I don’t want to go back there,
I don’t want to know what you’re wearing.
There are black diamonds in your eyes,
and just so you know your skin is scaling.

6. Warwick Avenue, Duffy
All the days spent together, I wish for better
and I didn’t want the train to come, now it’s departed
I’m broken hearted, seems like we never started.
All those things here together, when I wished for better
And I didn’t want the train to come

7. This is Home, Switchfoot
Belief over misery
I’ve seen the enemy
And I won’t go back
Back to how it was
And I got my heart set on what happens next
I got my eyes wide it’s not over yet
We are miracles and we’re not alone

8. Saltwater room, Owl City
You happened to look and see the tunnels all around me
Running into the dark underground
All the subways around create a great sound
To my motion fatigue: farewell
With your ear to a seashell

9. I’m all over it, Jamie Cullum
She’s a melody
That I’ve tried to forget but I can’t
It still follows me
When I wake in the dead of the night
And I know that I can’t find
That song going round in my head
Like the last things you said

10. Tears dry on their own, Amy Winehouse
All I can ever be to you is a darkness that we know
And this regret I got accustomed to
Once it was so right when we were at our high
Waiting for you in the hotel at night

Leave a Reply

