Responsibility is a long word

Standard

MIXTAPE: March 15-31. 2011

Responsibility is a long word by dardenitaaa

The last two weeks of March felt like ten light-years, in terms of awesomeness. That, and the fact that February has just been likewise amazing, makes it a winning streak of some sorts. Big things are on the get-go for me, and I’m learning (and learning, and learning) that there’s so much growing up for me to do—from trying out job-scavenging to learning how to drive a motorcycle, I’m consistently getting a clearer view of firmly holding on for things I oh-so-badly dream of, no matter how disheartening letting some things go might be, too. Hence, the inspirational beats to give my dreams some musical accompaniment.

April, please be good to me too, yes?


10. Hey Rosetta, Yer Spring

Well everything is blooming
You know the will can always wait
to steal away your body
to steal away your brain

09. Matchbox 20, 3AM

I’m alright
I hope I can sleep for one night
If not to cool my insides
Maybe to calm my backside
Rain on me
I’ve got a weakness in me
I think that weakness feeds me
I don’t think you think you need me

08. Defy You, The Offspring

My anger grows
I’ll use it to win
The more you say
The more I defy you
So get out of my way

07. The One, Foo Fighters

Everyone makes one mistake
One more time for old times sake
One more time before the feeling fades

One that’s born of memories
One more bruise you gave to me
One more test just how much can I take?

06. Half a Person, The Smiths

And if you have five seconds to spare
Then I’ll tell you the story of my life :
Sixteen, clumsy and shy
That’s the story of my life
Sixteen, clumsy and shy
The story of my life
That’s the story of my life.

05. Say, John Mayer

Walkin’ like a one man army
Fightin’ with the shadows in your head
Livin’ up the same old moment
Knowin’ you’d be better off instead
If you could only

04. You got Silver, Rolling stones

Hey babe, what’s in your eyes?
I saw them flashing like airplane lights
You fill my cup, babe, that’s for sure
I must come back for a little more

03. Burn, Tina Arena

Do you wanna be a poet and write
Do you wanna be an actor up in lights
Do you wanna be a soldier and fight for love
Do you wanna travel the world…

02. Cassie at the end of Things, Hannah Fairchild

You won’t know me in the light
Take my voice and leave my sight
But I am smiling, cause I can see that I’ll be
Falling from grace
And I dreamed of battle ships and bridal beds
I dreamed that dusk would stain the sea
I dreamed in color and in quiet
I dreamed my world away
Daddy, can you remember what my warning was?

01. That I would be good, Alanis Morissette

that i would be good even if i did nothing
that i would be good even if i got the thumbs down
that i would be good if i got and stayed sick
that i would be good even if i gained ten pounds

that i would be fine even if i went bankrupt
that i would be good if i lost my hair and my youth
that i would be great if i was no longer queen
that i would be grand if i was not all knowing

that i would be loved even when i numb myself
that i would be good even when i’m overwhelmed
that i would be loved even when i was fuming
that i would be good even if i was clingy

that i would be good even if i lost sanity
that i would be good whether with or without you

One response »

Leave a Reply

