Designing Accidents

Standard

MIXTAPE: APRIL 1-15.2011

Designing Accidents by D.Av

Sometimes, learning comes with neatly-ribboned revelations. And sometimes, it comes in ugly bandages and bloody knees; The little lessons of life, as I’ve come to know it, is in the everyday madness of blissfully mundane routines and the once-in-a-while snippets of unpredictability. So okay, I’ll stop sugar-coating the motorcycle accident I got into two weeks ago, but hey, I’m grateful I’m safe and still somewhat sound—I’m recovering fast, although my left arm is still basically useless at the moment. Ah, the price of wanting to be a badass biker-girl. Sadface. Some things can wait—God tells me this every time I impatiently rush for shortcuts. Often, I get long roads, scary bridges, confusing directions, faulty brakes, and yes, painful scars, only to arrive at another point in time for the sweet truth to glisten clear before me: that a traveller should always never lose faith to get to the destination.

My playlist this time around is an odd selection that clashes from retro hippy, to rainyday jazz, to summery and spiritual, to heartbreaking and to feel-good. There’s no dominant mood in my system as of current, but I feel like singing a lot these days, and these songs are really really awesome to sing-along to, especially when you’re a bed-ridden, frustrated biker who can’t do much but laze around and daydream how productive the days could have been, if only you’ve been just a wee bit careful. Ouch.



10. Pieces don’t fit anymore, James Morrison

You pulled me under if I had to give in
Such a beautiful myth that’s breaking my skin
Well, I’ll hide all the bruises, I’ll hide all the damage that’s done
But I show how I’m feeling until all the feeling has gone

09. Sunburn, Sandwich

Here she comes
Coming out of the water
Here she comes
Coming straight at me
Here she comes
Coming out of the water
Here she comes
Summer refugee

08. Wild World, Cat Stevens

Ooh, baby, baby, it’s a wild world
It’s hard to get by just upon a smile
Ooh, baby, baby, it’s a wild world
And I’ll always remember you like a child, girl

07. Bend and Not break, Dashboard Confessional

I catalogue these steps now
Decisive and intentioned
Precise and patterned
Specifically to yours

I’m talented at breathing
Especially exhaling
So that my chest will
Rise and fall with yours

06. Cherry, Smashing Pumpkins

Hatred sleeps inside my bones
In the stillness of cool air
All the boys have been left for dead
‘Cause we go where they fear to tread
The beautiful ones, the one’s we’ll remember
The precious ones’ our greatest pretenders

05. How to say Goodbye, Paul Tiernan

To get up and go
To catch the last train
To get in some car and drive out again
To never come back this way
Left to say:

Goodbye
So long
Farewell
Au Revoir

04. The Little Things, Colbie Caillat

My feet are stuck here against the pavement
I wanna break free, I wanna make it
Closer to your eyes, get your attention
Before you pass me by
Don’t just leave me hanging on

03. Saturn Return, Eraserheads

Aircondition my brain
There’s a note in my ear that I can’t sustain
Drain all my fear oh dear
Trapped inside an aeroplane
Sittin’ on the aisle as you snooze
Excuse me sir coffee, tea, or juice
All I want right now is sleep
Please, o, please let me count my sheep
Swimming in my headphone dream, beam
The soundtrack propels me to the extreme

02. This Is the Stuff, Francesca Battistelli

I lost my keys in the great unknown
And call me please ‘Cause I can’t find my phone

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

01. Sing, My Chemical Romance

Cleaned-up corporation progress,
Dying in the process.
Children that can talk about it,
Living on the railways.
People moving sideways,
Sell it till your last days.
Buy yourself the motivation,
Generation nothing.
Nothing but a dead scene,
Product of a white dream.
I am not the singer that you wanted,
but a dancer.
I refuse to answer,
Talk about the past,
Sir and wrote it for the ones who want to get away.

Leave a Reply

