Bummer Summer

Standard

MIXTAPE: APRIL 16-30. 2011

Bummer Summer by dardenitaaa

Tsk. I know this is horribly late and I know I’ve been seriously out of the blogging loop these days; Thanks to Climate Change and to the randomness of my life, my moods lately have been just as lukewarm as the alternating weather. Seriously, Hard rainshowers this week, recordbreaking Metro heat the next. Yeah, even my mental umbrellas are having an identity crisis. Whatever happened to Constancy? Oh well. If there’s anything steadfast about my current patters, it seems to be my recent inclination with overly-sentimental, cheesier-than-thou love songs, which is odd cause I’ve never been too fond of them, because there’s no reason for me to. So there, please pardon the romanticized playlist I’ve got this time, and let’s all indulge in singing our hearts out, yes? 

10. Marry Your Daughter, Brian McKnight

Sir, I’m a bit nervous
‘Bout being here today
Still not real sure what I’m going to say
So bear with me please
If I take up too much of your time,
See in this box is a ring for your oldest
She’s my everything and all that I know is
It would be such a relief if I knew
That we were on the same side
Very soon I’m hoping that I…

09. Hey there Delilah, Plain White T’s

Hey there Delilah, I know times are getting hard
But just believe me girl, someday I’ll pay the bills with this guitar
We’ll have it good, we’ll have the life we knew we would
My word is good

Hey there Delilah, I’ve got so much left to say
If every simple song I wrote to you
Would take your breath away, I’d write it all
Even more in love with me you’d fall, we’d have it all

Oh it’s what you do to me

08. Cloudy, Simon and Garfunkel

My thoughts are scattered and they’re cloudy,
They have no borders, no boundaries.
They echo and they swell
From Tolstoy to Tinker Bell.
Down from Berkeley to Carmel.
Got some pictures in my pocket and a lot of time to kill.

Hey sunshine
I haven’t seen you in a long time.
Why don’t you show your face and bend my mind?
These clouds stick to the sky
Like floating questions, why?
And they linger there to die.
They don’t know where they are going, and, my friend, neither do I.

07. Champagne Supernova, Oasis

‘Cos people believe that they’re
Gonna get away for the summer
But you and I, we live and die
The world’s still spinning round
We don’t know why?
Why? Why? Why? Why?

How many special people change?
How many lives are living strange?
Where were you while we were getting high?

06. Punching in a dream, The Naked and Famous

All the lights go down as I crawl into the spaces
If I died on the screens
Life tearing at the seams

Way-yay-yay-yay-yay
I don’t ever wanna be here
Like punching in a dream breathing life into my nightmare

If it falls apart I would surely wake it
Bright lights turn me clean
This is worse than it seems

05. In another life, The Veronicas

I have known you my whole life
When you were ten, you said you’d make me your wife
Eight years later you won me over
Just as I took the world on my shoulders

I got used to living without you
Endless phone calls and dreaming about you
Always said that you were my man to be
But I guess I was in love with your memory

04. City, Sara Bareilles

Here in these deep city lights
Girl could get lost tonight
I’m finding every reason to be gone
There’s nothing here to hold on to
Could I hold you?

03. My Saving Grace, Hillsong

Night and day I seek Your face
Long for You in the secret place
All I want in this life
Is to truly know you more…

As the waters cover the sea,
So Your love covers me
Guiding me on,
Roads unknown
I trust in You alone

My Saving Grace
My endless love
Deeper and deeper I’m falling in love with You

02. Broken Sonnet, Hale

And now I concede on the night
of this fifteenth song
Of melancholy, of melancholy
And now I will admit in this fourth line
That I love you, that i love you

I don’t care what they say
I don’t care what they do

Cause tonight I leave my fears behind
Cause tonight I’ll be right at your side

The clock on the TV says 8:39 p.m.
It’s the same, it’s the same
And in this next line I’ll say it all over again
That I love you, that I love you

01. Gotten, Slash feat. Adam Levine

So nice to see your face again
Tell me how long has it been
Since you’ve been here
(since you’ve been here)
You look so different than before
But still the person I adore
Frozen with fear
I’m out of love but I’ll take it from the past
I’ll let out words cause I’m sure It’ll never last

And I’ve been saving
These last words for one last miracle
But now I’m not sure
I can’t save you if
You don’t let me
You just get me like I never
Been gotten before

One response »

Leave a Reply

