The Mayhem and Magic of Weddings

Standard

Zaquita-Obra Nuptials (December 10, 2011)

I’ve been ranting repeatedly on twitter a few weeks back about suddenly getting an influx of wedding invitations, like there’s a national conspiracy being brewed against me. Well, if you ask a girl who just had a boy haircut and has been perpetually single all her life to be a bridesmaid thrice, chances are she’ll get pretty cranky, you know.

But anyway, I’m glad I made it through all of three weddings in one piece. The last wedding was actually one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen in my life. So grand yet so intimate. I actually had to choke back a few tears during the moment that the groom was giving his personal speech of vows to his bride. “Salamat, kasi pinili mo akong maging first and last boyfriend mo. Kahit wala kang sense of direction, binigyan mo ng direksyon ang buhay ko,” he says in between tears. And yeah sure, cheesy stuff is cheesy, but it just totally killed me. Sapul sa puso eh. Will I ever hear those words from a guy?

It also had me thinking about my future other half, should there ever be a chance for us to meet. On the drive home that night after the wedding, I was so lost with this thoughts but ended up thinking about songs instead, about what defines me at the moment and what I want to be played in my wedding, in case I’ll be married someday. Yes, definitely just for emergency purposes.

So here’s my wedding inspired mix tape, ya’ll. What’s yours? 

10. Crave You, Flight Facilities

Why can’t you want me like the other boys do?
They stare at me while I stare at you
Why can’t I keep you safe as my own?
One moment I have you the next you’re gone
Rehearsed steps on an empty stage
That boy’s got my heart in a silver cage
Why can’t you want me like the other boys do?
They stare at me while I crave you

I walked into the room dripping in gold
Yeah dripping in gold
I walked into the room dripping in gold
Dripping in gold
A wave of heads did turn or so I’ve been told
Or so I’ve been told
My heart broke when I saw you kept your gaze controlled
I cannot solve

09. Living Louder, the cab

‘Cause we’re all just kids
Who grew up way too fast
Yeah the good die young
But the great will always last

We’re growing older
But we’re all soldiers tonight

When you’ve got your breath inside your head
Every day’s a second chance
If I wake up with a beating heart
Will I stand or will I fall?

I’m living louder
Dreaming longer tonight
Baby I’m fighting harder
And loving stronger tonight

08. Bittersweet, Sara Bareilles

Bittersweet seasons
Mistake a warm winter for spring.
Seems like I’m best at leaving when leaving is not the best thing

You couldn’t help it if you needed more than I could give.
That’s just the way it goes. Now,

I call you misplaced but never a waste of my time.
Everybody’s gonna make mistakes,
But you’ll never be one of mine.

You couldn’t help it if you needed more than I could give.
That’s just the way it goes.
I knew you felt me leaving long before I ever did.
That’s just the way it goes now.
Loved me fearless when you needed to.
You would not rest till you came through.
So God bless and thank you

07. Superman, Taylor Swift

I watch superman fly away
You’ve got a busy day today
Go save the world I’ll be around
I watch superman fly away
Come back I’ll be with you someday
I’ll be right here on the ground
When you come back down

And I watch you fly around the world
And I hope you don’t save some other girl
Don’t forget, don’t forget about me
I’m far away but I never let you go
I’m lovestruck and looking out the window
Don’t forget, don’t forget where I’ll be
Right here wishing the flowers were from you
Wishing the card was from you
Wishing the call was from you

‘Cause I loved you from the very first day

06. I’m Yours, The Script

You touch these tired eyes of mine
And map my face out line by line
And somehow growing old feels fine
I listen close for I’m not smart
You wrap your thoughts in works of art
And they’re hanging on the walls of my heart

I may not have the softest touch
I may not say the words as such
And though I may not look like much
I’m yours
And though my edges may be rough
I never feel I’m quite enough
It may not seem like very much
But I’m yours

05. Again, Bruno Mars

I missed the first train stood out in the rain all day
(little did I know)
But I caught the next train, and there you were to sweep me away
Guess that’s what I waited for

Never believed that things happen for a reason
But how this turned out removed all my doubt
So believe that for you I’d do it all over again
Do it all over again
All I went through led me to you so I’d do it all over again

Oh, who ever thought a day gone so wrong could turn out so lovely?

04. I could not ask for more, Edwin McCain

Lying here with you
Listening to the rain
Smiling just to see, the smile upon your face
And these are the moments I thank God that I’m alive
And these are the moments
I’ll remember all my life
I found all I’ve waited for
And I could not ask for more

Looking in your eyes
Seeing all I need
Everything you are, is everything to me

And these are the moments
I know heaven must exist
And these are the moments; I know all I need is this
I have all I’ve waited for (yeah)
And I could not ask for more…

03. I won’t let you go, James Morrison

When it’s black
Take a little time to hold yourself
Take a little time to feel around before it’s gone
You won’t let go but you still keep on falling down
Remember how you save me now from all of my wrongs
Yeah

If there’s love just feel it
And if there’s life we’ll see it
This is no time to be alone, alone yeah
I won’t let you go

Say those words
Say those words like there’s nothing else
Close your eyes and you might believe
That there is some way out
Yeah

Open up
Open up your heart to me now
Let it all come pouring out
There’s nothing I can’t take

02. All this and Heaven too, Florence + The Machines

And the heart is hard to translate,
It has a language of it’s own,
It talks and tongues and quiet sighs and prayers and proclamations,
In the grand days of great men and the smallest of gestures,
In short shallow gasps

But with all my education,
I can’t seem to commend it,
And the words are all escaping me,
And coming back all damaged,
And I would put them back in poetry,
If I only knew how,
I can’t seem to understand it,

And I would give all this and heaven too,
I would give it all if only for a moment,
That I could just understand the meaning of the word you see,
‘Cause I’ve been scrawling it forever,
But it never makes sense to me at all.

And it talks to me in tiptoes,
And sings to me inside,
It cries out in the darkest night,
And breaks in morning light

01. White Dress, Ben Rector

So do you remember?
With your white dress on
It was the end of December
Count the days till dawn

I never knew
That I could love someone
The way that I love you
I never knew
That I could love someone
The way that I love you
I never knew
That I could love someone
The way that I love you
I never knew
I never knew

She’s coming on Friday
And then the close spark
Cause its just minutes & highways
Till the one I love
The one I love

Leave a Reply

