Found

Standard

The weekend that just well, ended, has been the absolute definition of berserk. This is ironic because I’m supposed to be on some faux cerebral holiday (I filed eight days leave off work and was approved) and yet I know deep-down in my gut that I’ve got no room in my head for vacation. Fine, I confess to spending the first three days just bumming around the house like how my good ol’ previously-unemployed self used to do daily prior to me being corporate slave ver.2.0—movie marathon like there’s no tomorrow and sleeping for hours on end like it’s nobody’s business. Eight movies later and I’m already feeling rewarded and wait for it—relevant! Although who am I kidding, I know very well that I’m just bracing myself for a crazy 48-hour schedule of non-stop commitments and long-awaited life plans.

So to give you a good idea of what I’ve been through, here’s everything in a nutshell sequence: ‘Dawn Watch’ Church Worship Vigil on the wee hours of Saturday morning gave me a good jumpstart, and then I went straight to a Christening celebration of a family friend’s kid as I promised to be a ninang, and then I went all around Cubao searching for Camp Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo High School. I got stuck with the metro traffic for three hours and had to head-straight for the mall to do some shopping and to have Dinner by myself at Kenny’s while reviewing. And then I went back to the office in the evening to get some stuff from my locker. I’m so dead-tired that I ended up sleeping at the lounge and decided it’ll be better to spend the night there. Sunday Morning at 3am, I got up and had to wait for half an hour before I found a cab which took me to back to CGEAHS. At thirty minutes past four, I’m having some last-minute breakfast at the nearby 7-11 feeling nauseous with anxiety and my entire body hurting from sleeping uncomfortably at that strange bed at the office lounge. 6:30 am was my D-Day. There I was, sitting at Room number 5, shading circles on my answer sheet for three hours, praying inside my head, ‘Lord, please, let me pass my Civil Service Exam.’

But I still think that the most amazing part of my weekend is still the peace and calm that filled me all throughout that crazy 48 hours. Sure, I blacked out the moment I set feet on my bedroom when I got home, but wow, I’ve never been so grateful for such energy. Nine months ago my life has been all over the place, but I’d like to believe that now I’m finally heading somewhere—someplace beautiful.

Also, another mixtape after ages! These ten songs I’ve had on repeat are great mind-stimulators and stress-relievers so you might wanna try ‘em next time you’re having a berserk weekend too! 

10. Teenagers, My Chemical Romance

They’re gonna clean up your looks
With all the lies in the books
To make a citizen out of you
Because they sleep with a gun
And keep an eye on you, son
So they can watch all the things you do

Because the drugs never work
They’re gonna give you a smirk
‘Cause they got methods of keeping you clean
They’re gonna rip up your heads,
Your aspirations to shreds
Another cog in the murder machine

9. Like a Star, Corrine Bailey Rae

You’ve got this look I can’t describe,
You make me feel like I’m alive,
When everything else is au fait,
Without a doubt you’re on my side,
Heaven has been away too long,
Can’t find the words to write this song,
Oh…Your love.

8. Lego House, Ed Sheeran

I’m out of touch, I’m out of love
I’ll pick you up when you get down
And out of all these things I’ve done I think I love you better now
I’m out of sight, I’m out of mind
I’ll do it all for you in time
And out of all these things I’ve done I think I love you better now

7. Kandila, Sugarfree

Ngayong gabi
Madilim dito
Walang ilaw
Brownout sa aking mundo
Sa init naiinip
Sa dilim nangangapa
Naalala tuloy kita
Kandila lang ang kasama kandila lang
Kamusta ka na kaya?

6.Without You, Ben Rector

You can’t see
There’s people everywhere
You can’t see
You can’t see
That inside me
There are things that I can’t bear
You can’t see
Inside of me

Doesn’t matter where I go
When I’m without you I am low
Without you
Without you
I’ve been low and lost without you

5. Winter Song, Sara Bareilles & Ingrid Michaelson

This is my winter song.
December never felt so wrong,
cause you’re not where you belong;
inside my arms.

This is my winter song to you.
The storm is coming soon
it rolls in from the sea.

My love a beacon in the night.
My words will be your light
to carry you to me.

Is love alive?

4. Jet Lag, Simple Plan feat. Natasha Beningfield

What time is it where you are?
Five more days and I’ll be home
I keep your picture in my car
I hate the thought of you alone
I’ve been keepin’ busy all the time
Just to try to keep you off my mind
Tryin’ to figure out the time zones makin’ me crazy

You say good morning
When it’s midnight
Going out of my head
Alone in this bed
I wake up to your sunset
And it’s drivin’ me mad
I miss you so bad

3. Princess of China, Coldplay feat. Rihanna

Once upon a time somebody ran
Somebody ran away saying fast as I can
I’ve got to go, I’ve got to go!

Once upon a time we fell apart
You’re holding in your hands the two halves of my heart
Once upon a time, we burned bright
Now all we ever seem to do is fight
On and on…
And on and on and on…

Once upon a time on the same side.
Once upon a time on the same side, in the same game
And why’d you have to go, have to go and throw water on my flame

2. The Fighter, Gym Class Heroes

Give em hell, turn their heads
Gonna live life ’til we’re dead.
Give me scars, give me pain
Then they’ll say to me, say to me, say to me
There goes the fighter, there goes the fighter
Here comes the fighter
That’s what they’ll say to me, say to me, say to me,
This one’s a fighter.

1. Never Gone, Colton Dixon

I’m still standing here
No I didn’t disappear
Now the lights are on
See I was never gone

I let go of your hand
To help you understand
With you all along
Yeah, I was never gone

I never ever left you
Never ever left you, no.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Lego House (Ed Sheeran) – Cover by Brad Kavanagh | Best 2012 Songs

Leave a Reply

